OUR FIRM

Architectural Resources Inc. was born out of a passion to provide just that: architectural resources. With over 80 years of experience, we know how to get a project built. We create spaces for learning, healing, playing, working, relaxing, and much more. We design with you in mind. Give us a call to see what we can do for you.

 

OUR TEAM

Mark Wirtanen

President, Architect, AIA

Phone: 218-206-9539

Email: mark.wirtanen@arimn.com

Scott Sosalla

Vice President,

Project Manager

Phone: 218-208-0633

Email: scott.sosalla@arimn.com

Katie Hildenbrand

Principal, Interior Designer, CID

Phone: 218-208-0659

Email: katie.hildenbrand@arimn.com

Ryan Erspamer

Principal, Architect, AIA​

Phone: 218-409-8459

Email: ryan.erspamer@arimn.com

David Jordan

Principal, Engineer, PE

Phone: 218-206-8894

Email: david.jordan@arimn.com

 
 

Kevin Piron

Associate, Architect

Phone: 218-208-0634

Email: kevin.piron@arimn.com

Karl Larsen

Associate, Architect

Phone: 218-260-2308

Email: karl.larsen@arimn.com

Mike Petrich

Associate, Architectural

Designer

Phone: 218-208-0651

Email: mike.petrich@arimn.com

Casey Nies

Architect

Phone: 218-208-0657

Email: casey.nies@arimn.com

Aaron Brown

Architectural Designer

Phone: 218-409-8293

Email: aaron.brown@arimn.com

Kara Iliff

Project Technician

Phone: 218-208-0654

Email: kara.iliff@arimn.com

Kory Schleif

Project Technician

Phone: 218-461-1092

Email: kory.schleif@arimn.com

Amanda Isaacs

Project Technician

Phone: 218-208-0650

Email: amanda.isaacs@arimn.com

Becky Lehto

Project Technician

Phone: 218-409-8483

Email: becky.lehto@arimn.com

Andrea Wedul

Landscape Architect, PLA

Phone: 218-208-0662

Email: andrea.wedul@arimn.com

Jordan van der Hagen

Landscape Designer

Phone: 218-208-0666

Email: 

jordan.vanderhagen@arimn.com

Lindsey Kriens

Associate, Interior Designer

Phone: 218-208-0640

Email: lindsey.kriens@arimn.com

Mike Washburn

Associate, Mechanical Engineer, PE

Phone: 218-208-0630

Email: 

michael.washburn@arimn.com

Scott Fawkes

Associate, Senior Mechanical Designer

Phone: 218-208-0241

Email: scott.fawkes@arimn.com

Matthew Korpela

Engineering Designer

Phone: 218-239-0197

Email: 

matthew.korpela@arimn.com

Adam Benes

Engineering Designer

Phone: 218-208-0242

Email: adam.benes@arimn.com

Dan Sterud

Engineering Designer

Phone: 218-208-0663

Email: dan.sterud@arimn.com

Miranda Schwartz

Marketing Coordinator

Phone: 218-208-0638

Email: 

miranda.schwartz@arimn.com

Maggie Furlong

Marketing & Graphic Design Intern​

Angela Ducote

Business Manager

Phone: 218-206-8253

Email: angela.ducote@arimn.com

Patty Winchester

Administrative Assistant

Phone: 218-208-0229

Email: 

patty.winchester@arimn.com

Jeanne Hennek

Administrative Assistant

Phone: 218-409-8481

Email: 

jeanne.hennek@arimn.com

OUR HISTORY

 

THE EARLY YEARS

1940-1959

Jyring and Whiteman

The year is 1940. World War II was on its second year, and the war had revived the economy of the small Iron Range town of Hibbing, MN. The need for steel created an economic boom in the region, and taking advantage of this, E. A. Jyring established a small architectural office to serve the needs of the growing community. This firm would eventually become Architectural Resources Inc., but not without a few name changes.

E. A. Jyring partnered with S. P. Jureness in 1946, thus changing the name of the firm to Jyring & Jureness. This lasted up until Jurenes' death in 1953. Richard Whiteman took Jureness' place, and thus Jyring and Whiteman was born.

Jyring and Whiteman were both drawn to the region in hopes of setting up a relaxed firm - the kind in which they could take an afternoon off if the fishing was good. Whether good or bad, this didn't last long as the reputation brought by their quality designs had them busier than they anticipated.

​​

By 1959, Jyring and Whiteman had grown to 17 people. The team consisted of the two partners, two designers, and 13 employees tasked with production duties. At this time, the firm dealt strictly in architecture - contracting out engineering and other design services as needed.

Some notable projects from this period include Hibbing's St. Louis Courthouse, the Hibbing Public Library, and a handful of notable schools, churches, and residences.

BEYOND THE BUILDING

1960-1979

More name changes. By 1960, the firm started to look beyond just buildings. One of the first departments to join was planning, with the addition of Charles Aguar. This addition led to the firm becoming Aguar, Jyring, Whiteman. The firm then merged with another local landscape architecture practice, thus becoming Aguar, Jrying, Whiteman, and Moser. At this point, the predecessor to ARI had Architects, Landscape Architects, Planners, and Engineers under its roof.

By the late 60s, the firm was ready to expand. In 1968, the firm purchased a vacant building on Superior Street in Duluth in hopes of setting up a new office to handle the ongoing projects in the city. The building, formerly the city jail and police headquarters - and then a southern fried chicken restaurant - had been empty since 1958. The building, made of locally quarried brownstone and intricate stonework, is one of the best examples of its style in the area. It also is home to the city's first skywalk, built between it and the former city hall next door.

More name changes. 

By the late 60s, the firm was ready to expand. In 1968, the firm purchased a vacant building on Superior Street in Duluth in hopes of setting up a new office to handle the ongoing projects in the city. The building, formerly the city jail and police headquarters - and then a southern fried chicken restaurant - had been empty since 1958. The building, made of locally quarried brownstone and intricate stonework, is one of the best examples of its style in the area. It also is home to the city's first skywalk, built between it and the former city hall next door.

By 1959, Jyring and Whiteman had grown to 17 people. The team consisted of the two partners, two designers, and 13 employees tasked with production duties. At this time, the firm dealt strictly in architecture - contracting out engineering and other design services as needed.

Some notable projects from this period include Hibbing's St. Louis Courthouse, the Hibbing Public Library, and a handful of notable schools, churches, and residences.

BEYOND THE BUILDING

1980-1999

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

© 2019 by Architectural Resources, Inc.